The Abuse Series

“Fighting the Ghosts”

The Legacy of Childhood Sexual Abuse

This is an artistic chronology reflecting the various phases I experienced while trying to come to terms with childhood sexual abuse. It took me decades to push past the repression and denial to finally deal with this particularly savage issue. I hope that what I have expressed artistically might help others who have also suffered. I present this artwork in homage to the little girl inside of me who was so tragically harmed, and to all the other children like her.

~ Colleen D. Gjefle

Childhood Broken